You are here

Robin © S. RösnerCall for nominations: GfÖ Prize 2024

Deadline: 30. March 2024

This year, the GfÖ-Prize is awarded to honour a young, but experienced ecologist at the post-doc level for an outstanding contribution to advance the field of ecological research. The potential prize holder has completed her or his PhD thesis during the last six years and does not typically hold a permanent position at the time of nomination.

The GfÖ Award is endowed with a prize money of 10,000 €. The award is given during the annual conference of the GfÖ. The winner of the GfÖ Prize has to present the work for which the prize is provided in person (20 min) during the GfÖ award session at the annual conference. The winner’s travel expenses, accommodation and conference costs will be covered (adhering to the guidelines of the Federal Travel Expenses Act (Bundesreisekostengesetz)).

The jury’s decision is based on the following criteria:

  • Scientific quality proven through an excellent publication record in an ecological research field and proven activities to develop an own research agenda in the field of ecological research (e.g., through third-party funding, establishment of working groups or networks)
  • Communicative quality proven through active participation in conferences and/or the lead of symposia including networking and outreach activities.
  • Commitment to promoting young researchers through activities such as initiating or supporting initiatives in the field of ecological research, providing above-average support in teaching and/or supervision of final year candidates or trainees or the (co-)development of workshops or summer schools.

Nominations for the GfÖ prize are made by GfÖ members to the GfÖ board. Self-nominations are not possible. The nominations should include the name, the current working address along with the e-mail address. In addition, please provide a CV of the nominee, your two-to-three page evaluation in which you provide a clear statement for each of the three criteria mentioned above. Please submit this information in one PDF document online via until 30 March 2024. It is not possible to nominate persons after the submission deadline.

Submit now ... !




GfÖ Prize 2020 Dr. Bea Maas, University of Vienna, Austria

GfÖ Prize 2022 Dr. Tobias Sandner, University of Marburg, Germany